The Primatology Recognition Award is a new initiative created by the PSGB. With this award we aim to further highlight the wonderful contributions made to the field of primatology by both Undergraduate and Postgraduate students. We have launched both the Undergraduate Primatology Recognition Award and the Postgraduate Primatology Recognition Award.
*The Postgraduate award is aimed at Master's level students as we award the Napier Medal to PhD students. 

One undergraduate and one postgraduate award per institution can be given per year and the successful student will receive a certificate and a year’s membership of the Society. At each awarding institution, awards will be overseen by a nominated individual, who will advertise them to their students. 

We hope that this will encourage student participation in and membership of the Society and raise the profile of primatology. The awards will usually be for the highest-graded primatological dissertation in the degree programme but may, in exceptional circumstances, be granted for other achievements deemed to be equally deserving. Recipients of the awards will be asked to contribute a summary of their work to Primate Eye.  


If you would like to introduce these awards to your institute, nominate your students, or learn more, please contact Education Officer and Editor Lindsay Murray at [email protected] 

We have just closed our first round of nominations for the Postgraduate Primatology Recognition Awards. Please keep an eye on social media for further updates for future nominations. 

2022 Postgraduate Primatology Recognition Awardees

The Society is delighted to announce our first round of awardees for our newly launched Postgraduate Primatology Recognition Awardees. 6 Postgraduate students are receiving a certificate and years membership of the society for their exceptional work and contributions to the society. 

Congratulations to:

  • Shauna Brown, Bangor University
  • Sammy Hilton, University of Stirling
  • Rachel Blood, University of Roehampton
  • Viola Komedová, University of St Andrews
  • Andrew Houldcrof, University of Exeter
  • Emily Johnson, UCL
The Primate Society of Great Britain is a registered Charity number 290185 Website Photos: Annette Gunn & Brogan Mace
Log in | Powered by White Fuse